Oel dynasty is remembered for its outstanding contribution in the field of education. Raja Yuveraj Dutta Singh Ji played a commendable role in spreading education. He donated with open heart to many institutions, viz, Lucknow University, BHU and university of Allahabad. He was of the opinion that his left hand should not know what his right hand donated. He would say that he acts according to the wish of God. He realized that district Kheri was concerned. So he along with cooperation of other Taluqdars established P.K. Inter College in July 1935. He had been the president of this college throughout his life. This college has played a laudable role in spreading education. .

For developing rural areas of his state he decided to establish on educational institution in Oel town. In july 1938 his dream came true by establishment of Y.D. Inter College, Oel, Kheri. In that time more than three lacs rupees were spent on constructions of building.

Raja Saheb realized importance of higher education decades ago and he established Y.D.P.G. College, Lakhimpur-Kheri in 1949. He appointed Padma Bhushan Dr. Jaidev Singh as a Principal for successful journey & bright future of the college. The college was affiliated to Agra University, Agra. Initially B.A and B.Com courses were started at the College. Later, in 1951 the existing departments were extended and M.A. in history, Hindi and Philosophy were started. In 1959, B.Sc. (maths) was also started. The College again continued its onward expansion and started M.A. in Political Science, Economics and English in 1961. College changed its affiliation from Agra University, Agra to Chhatrapati Sahu Ji Maharaj University, Kanpur (erstwhile Kanpur University,Kanpur) in 1966. In 1970, B.Sc. (biology) was also started at the College. After few years, B.Ed. course was started in the session of 1973-74. Admission into M.Com. started in 1984. The first post graduation in science, viz. M.Sc. (Botany) was started in 2000 under self finance scheme. The College management strived to enrich the college by appointing highly qualified and committed faculty. The details of founder heads of the respective departments are in the list below.

# Department Founder Head
1. Philosophy PADAM BHUSHAN Dr. Jaidev Singh
2. Economics Dr. R N Mishra
3. English Dr. I D Dubey
4. Hindi Dr. Kunwar Chandra Prakash Singh
5. Political Science Sri Rameshwar Singh Janwar
6. History Dr. Ganpat Singh
7. Sanskrit Dr. Lakshi Kant Dixit
8. Commerce Dr. D S Chauhan
9. Education Dr. Amar Nath Sinha
10. Physical Education Dr. Ganga Singh Rana
11. Physics Mr T D Singh
12. Mathematics Sri S N Singh
13. Chemistry Mr. K Satyanarayan Swami
14. Zoology Dr. A S Saxena
15. Botany Dr. M P S Chauhan